Forum Home Forum Home > General Discussions > Off-Topic
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Warranty on Laptop???

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
PSMINI Expert Advisor
PSMINI Expert Advisor
PSMINI Member

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Genie B Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Warranty on Laptop???
    Posted: August/05/14 at 3:32pm

Hello!

Just asking the advice of all you computer laptop owners out there . . . is it prudent to purchase an extended warranty on a laptop? Also, saw an online warranty offer from a company called 'square trade' - 2 yr. $70, 3-yr. $100. Anyone heard of them?

I would welcome any thoughts on whether this is a must-spend.

THANK YOU!!!

Beakerzor View Drop Down
PSMINI Driving Member
PSMINI Driving Member
PSMINI Member

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Beakerzor Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: August/05/14 at 7:16pm
i'm not an expert, but the odds are rare that you will need the warranty

when i bought my laptop two years ago, i bought a $150 two-year theft&accident warranty, never had a single issue with the laptop

but it was nice knowing that if i ever lost it, i could get a replacement

laptops are almost flawless these days, but just knowing that you are safe, might be worth the money, as that will most likely be the only value you get: peace of mind

statistically, its a bad bet, especially if you already have homeowners/renters insurance

will it cover any accident or theft?  or just repair?  is there a deductible? 

Edited by Beakerzor - August/05/14 at 7:33pm
FunSizeDriver View Drop Down
MINI Motorer
MINI Motorer

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote FunSizeDriver Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: August/05/14 at 10:01pm